Navigating without a compass – a Bobblers view

Just last week I was having a bit of a clear out when I came across my first season ticket.  It dated back to the 2003/04 season and quickly turned a seemingly routine chore into a tour of nostalgia as the memories flooded back.

I had just turned 19 and was working in a bank. It was the first time I could afford one after years of going game-by-game – only when my money stretched far enough. 

It wasn’t the best of seasons and, to be fair, the 7th placed finish in the previous campaign had probably presented me with slightly unrealistic expectations.  All the same, I have great memories of going to the game every week and feeling baggage-free. Despite the topsy turvy performances I had a strong sense of optimism and hope. 

I felt connected to the side. My only real concern tended to be who would get the nod upfront – we did have a few options up top back then. Fast forward 20 years and my perception has changed considerably. It’s hard as a modern-day football fan, isn’t it? Nowadays you find yourself discussing finances, ownership suitability, commercial performance and often get side-tracked into discussing the use – or misuse – of technology by the PGMOL, who quite frankly could not hit water if they fell off a Mersey Ferry.

So how do we find our way back? How do we recapture that feeling of belonging and get back to enjoying the thing that we love the most? Is it even possible?  

I would argue that it is possible, and it may be something that we have to do together, not alone. Something we do #AllTogetherNow. Does that mean all the other worries will fade away? Well, of course not. But in life there is a beauty in treasuring what you do have rather than focusing on what you don’t. 

We would all love the ability to rewind back time, God only knows I wish my dad was still here to go to the game with. The streets of L4 will always be primed with memories though, some good, some bad. Much like the #SpiritOfTheBlues they will remain eternal. 

Everton, as a club, is at an incredibly important point in its history, some may even make a case for it being the most pivotal time in its existence. A new stadium is nearing with every passing day, one that will be a jewel in the crown of what is in my opinion the greatest city in the world. As it stands, this is also a club seeking a new owner, with Farhad Moshiri looking to sell.  When I and many Evertonians marched in protest at a failing board (a big well done to everyone that gave up their free time – bobble hats off to you all), little did we know that it appears Moshiri’s pockets were as empty as mine, as I sit here today, a week past pay day after a big shop in Costco with my better half, a trip down the Nethy Pub, and with all of the rising monthly bills having come out from my bank account. Despite his continual claims to the CONTRARY, it now appears he was looking for a way out faster than my weekend attempts to slip out the back door to the boozer when the Mrs tells me she is planning to have a ‘big clean’.

The atmosphere has been flat at home games RECENTLY, but I think we are all nervously waiting for ‘what next’ and a little bit jaded by everything that has gone on.

Forgetting is never easy but it is the path of least resistance, the resignation of the football club’s most unsuccessful ever chairman would help. Getting back to my earlier point it would be easy to focus on what we don’t have but right now the focus, in my humble opinion, should be in what we do have: Each other. If we look slightly up north towards the barcodes, totally ignore their odd indiscretion walloping the odd horse but look at what impact new ownership can have, then any new owner could not ask to walk into a better situation.

The fanbase has shown what it can do when it comes together. It is easy to focus on the bad parts of the last 18 months, but I am ready to forget them and look forward now – let’s remember the POSITIVE parts. Even if just for a moment in time, we found out what things could be like, what they should be like, and we experienced a little slice of Evertonia. It’s a snapshot of course, the outlier as opposed to the norm, but it shows what is possible when we all come together, in unity lies strength.

Photo Credit Lewis Guy (Twitter @LewGuy92)

That must be our north star and with the right ownership, a clearly communicated plan that aligns us all, we can and will get to destination Evertonia again together, hopefully the euphoria we all crave then becomes the norm.

For now, however, as a fanbase we must find the compass to TO NAVIGATE this period and we must find that spark. We can absolutely do it, together. Let’s make sure the final days of the Grand Old Lady, of Goodison Park, is filled with POSITIVE/HAPPY memories. This football club is, always has been, and always will be about its fans, whoever is the temporary custodian at the time. On a Saturday there is no-one I would rather be stood next to than one of you. That is what makes us Evertonians.

David Wycherley

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started